Malaysian Championships 2016 Kicks Off (Updates)

Posted on Mar 16 2016 - 11:43am by Web Admin

Day 4

Mohd Syafie surprises FM Li Tian

Awang Mohd Syafie Mohd Kifflee

Awang Mohd Syafie

A Sabahan player played a sensational match that ended in a draw against the number one seeded FM Yeoh Li Tian in the 8th round.

17-year-old Awang Mohd Syafie bin Mohd Kifflee proved that the 751 rating difference between him and Li Tian is just a number. He played with tremendous accuracy in the game but Li Tian had also shown excellent defences against any attacking attempts by Syafie.

Both players have the equal chance, even though Syafie has a huge time advantage later in the game, the match ended drawn in Queens and Pawns ending. Li Tian maintains lead and already sealed the title with 7.5 points so far.

In the women category, WCM Nur Nabila has also sealed the title with 7.0 points so far after played out a draw against Rosamund in the 8th round.


Day 3

Nabila defeats Fong Mi Yen and Takes Sole Lead

WCM Nur Nabila of Selangor won her sixth-round game against Fong Mi Yen of Perak and is now the sole leader in the Women category.

In the Open category, FM Yeoh Li Tian continues his winning streak to 6 games and unbeaten since the first round.


Day 2

Li Tian Maintains Lead in Open Category

17 March 2016, Kota Kinabalu – Number one seeded FM Yeoh Li Tian played out two wins to keep his full point lead in the Malaysian Championships 2016.

In the women category, WFM Nur Najiha Azman Hisham and Nur Nabila Azman Hisham are the current leaders after both players collected 3.5 points each. The two sisters played out a draw in the fourth round and still unbeaten.


Day 1

Malaysian Championships 2016 Kicks Off Today

16 March 2016, Kota Kinabalu – The Malaysian Championships 2016 kicks off today. 97 players from all over the country are taking parts of this year edition.

The event is a 9-round Swiss, organized by the Malaysian Chess Federation and Sabah Chess Association. It is going to take place from March 16th through March 20th, at University College Sabah Foundation, Kota Kinabalu.